Be My Valentine

aaIMG_3905I am probably the worse person to have to celebrate Valentine’s Day with. Despite being incredibly romantic I come at it in a nontraditional way. Early in my relationship with Pat I mentioned that I don’t like to receive flowers because I feel bad that they sit in a vase and die. That always made me sad. So for years (decades) I never received flowers from Pat. Even though this was per my request Pat always came out looking like a loser. There have been a couple of years where Pat bought me roses for Valentine’s Day and I must admit I did like it. It’s flattering to have the delivery person come to the house, carrying the made up bouquet and the cute little card. But after a week they wilt and the water turns green and it makes me sad. I try to keep the buds by letting them dry but there’s not a whole lot you can do with them. This year I again told Pat I didn’t want any roses. There are a couple of reasons. First of all we haven’t fully plowed our very long driveway and any delivery people park out on the road and walk in. It’s quite dangerous. Secondly there’s the whole dead flower thing again. Finally I can think of a lot better ways to spend $58, like putting it towards a new camera that I’ve been eyeing on line. So yesterday while out getting groceries together Pat asked if he could buy me flowers. I said no. But he insisted. So I said, how about buying me a rose plant. And he did. It’s just a mini, but it’s pretty cute. I am hoping I don’t kill it before we can plant it outside.

aaIMG_0336

The next “must have” Valentine gift is chocolate. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate. However, many years ago, when we were trying to actively lose weight we found that there were certain times of the year that always got us. We came to name them the “Candy Holidays”: Halloween, Christmas and Easter. These would get us so bad that we vowed to stop the crazy and back away from the candy. And we did great, until we got hit by the secondary “candy holidays”: New Years, Valentine’s Day, our Anniversary (March 7), Fat Tuesday (those crazy Paczki) and St. Patrick’s Day (we’re an Irish Family). This set got us even worse than the original Candy Holidays. I think because they come in the dead of winter and you would do anything to feel better, it’s like the perfect food craving storm. Each year it was good for at least a 10 pound weight gain. I realized that I really don’t like when I get told what I should eat based on a holiday! It’s some odd domineering  force telling me I have to eat chocolates right now because it’s Valentine’s Day! What makes it even more frustrating is that for over a week I’ve been trying to eat healthy with food like this:

aaIMG_0326and was doing a pretty good job.

Now I’m told if I don’t eat this,

aaIMG_0342I’m not loved. How manipulative! It’s a psychological mess, really.

I don’t think I really have the answer. If I fall under the holiday spell I have dead flowers and a 5 pound weight gain. If I don’t I have no flowers, no chocolate and feel like I am giving up on my marriage. What a scam!! This year we bought the rose plant and shared a box of chocolates (although I am pretty sure I ate more than Pat). We also plan on having a nice lunch out while the twins are at school.

I don’t know what I would consider to be the perfect Valentine’s. I guess knowing that I have so many loves in my life that wish me a happy Valentine’s Day first thing in the morning and are willing to keep trying to get it right with me is all anyone could ask for.

aaIMG_3546

Leave a Reply

